Visa Waiver Pilot Program (VWPP)

The VWPP is a program that exempts certain nonimmigrants from the requirement of obtaining a visa to apply for entry into the United States. In order to be exempt, the alien has to meet the following criteria:

  1. The alien must be a citizen of one of the following countries:
    1. Andorra

    2. Argentina

    3. Australia

    4. Austria

    5. Belgium

    6. Brunei

    7. Denmark

    8. Finland

    9. France

    10. Germany

    11. Iceland

    12. Ireland

    13. Italy

    14. Japan

    15. Liechtenstein

    16. Luxembourg

    17. Monaco

    18. The Netherlands

    19. New Zealand

    20. Norway

    21. Portugal

    22. San Marino

    23. Singapore

    24. Slovenia

    25. Spain

    26. Sweden

    27. Switzerland

    28. The United Kingdom

    29. Uruguay

  1. The alien's intended purpose for visiting the U.S. falls under the B visa category. For information regarding the B-1 visa, please click here.For information regarding the B-2 visa, please click here.

If the alien meets the above criteria, then he/she can be admitted to the U.S. without a visa. The alien simply needsto apply for admission at the U.S. border. The time limit for the alien to stay in the United States under this program is ninety days. This period cannot be extended except in the case of emergencies. When an alien is in the U.S. under this program, he/she cannot change his/her non-immigrant status. However, if he/she wants to change his/her non-immigrant status, he/she can obtain a third country visa for this purpose. (For information regarding third county visas, please click here).

(Updated 10/09/12 by NT)

For more information on non-immigrant visas, please click on the following links: